My apologies for being very distant of late. I’m continuing to go through some issues personally which are dominating my life right now. It has been quite tough on my wife and I both emotionally and financially. The great part is this:

I’ve really discovered that the gym is something I need! Every day I wake up feeling quite down and I go home from work depressed, down and out. More than once I have got home and sat on the end of my bed feeling like I’m about to break into tears. I put on my workout gear and drag my ass down to the gym, put in my iPod and then I pump – heavy, hard and with intensity. Every time I leave the gym, I am smiling because it has got my endorphins up, adrenaline pumping etc on a chemical/hormone level but from an emotional point of view, I feel good about myself.

My issues are at the point where I’m almost certain I could be clinically diagnosed with mild depression but all I can say is this: I don’t need prozac, I don’t need therapy (as I already know the cause of this) what I need is the gym. …. That and another reminder of how far I’ve come. Again – hardly earth shattering since my last post but it does make me feel good about myself – and that’s important.

5 months of exercise amid a "corporate" lifestyle.

5 months of exercise amid a “corporate” lifestyle.

Comments
  1. SandyLand says:

    I wish more people would understand the importance of fitness and exercise for their mental health. I was diagnosed with depression when I was a teenager and I spent many years thereafter on medications – some which worsened the depression. Then I discovered exercise and my depression went away. Good for you for writing about it. đŸ™‚
    http://nsfitbitch.wordpress.com/

    • Thanks! It helps that this is anonymous. While it seems obvious sometimes that being depressed is nothing to be ashamed of, we do worry sometimes how our friends, bosses, colleagues etc will react. Luckily I have a very supportive wife who keeps me grounded when the going gets rough and a better understanding of how much exercise helps.

      Previously I treated myself with anti-depressants and a lot of drinking but this quickly had a negative spiral. Now the gym is the only meds I need. Only problem is they won’t let me live inside it hahaha.

Leave a Reply

