September 26th – The Secret To Success

Posted: September 26, 2013 in Fitness, Fitness Diary, Motivation
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You may watch sponsored youtube videos promising the secret to 6 packs, or the “get a flat belly by eating these 4 superfoods”. You may even decide that the secret is to pick an important event and say “I want to lose 15Kg by my sister’s wedding”.

The secret to success as we all can guess is by doing 3 extremely simple things:

  1. Choose a realistic objective
  2. Make an achievable plan
  3. Execute

Now here’s the problem. That’s actually not the full story – it’s the simple version to get you thinking but the truth is (especially in fitness) those three items come with fine-print which make all the difference.

  1. Choose a realistic objective – which is based on a long term goal (e.g. to maintain XXXKg, to maintain a 6 pack, or even just to be a healthy, better version of “me”)
  2. Make an achievable plan that represents a lifestyle change. E.g. Don’t say “I’ll stay off carbs for the next 30 days and run 3 times a week” – say “I’m going to change to a diet which suits my fitness objectives and exercise regime” and let the diet will change as you change
  3. Execute unwaveringly – maintaining your faith in the process.

My personal fitness belief is simple – fitness should never be a short term goal.

It shouldn’t be about losing 10Kg for a wedding or getting the big look in time for a beach holiday. Fitness has to be an attitude, a life-style. It has to be something you live and breathe. I don’t mean that fitness is about being a gym rat – not at all and we all deserve our cheat days! But fitness is not a fashion accessory or a fad to be “for the summer”. It should be treated like a financial investment – you put in regularly into the right structures and future-you will thank you for the diligence.

Comments
  1. Ice_Badger says:

    apart from the bit about cheat days…I don’t believe in cheat days or cheat anything…it is about balance and healthy choices…however balance can include an unhealthy thing once in a while without having to think of it as cheating. People are conditioned to think of cheating as bad…therefore it not a good thing to allow into a healthy attitude. a fit and healthy diet and lifestyle can accommodate occasional unhealthy food as long as it is not mostly unhealthy with an occasional healthy choice…

    ok…that was not the point was it…I agree about making smart long term goals πŸ™‚ nothing annoys me more the the focus on “bikini body for summer” attitude. lifelong health and fitness is key πŸ™‚

    • Hey!

      I do agree with your point and also completely agree about the resulting attitude of treating is as “cheating”. I think I mentioned before about the result of feeling like your health is a balance sheet where you feel like you have a debt to be paid every time you don’t exercise, or you have a slice of cake.

      I think you hit the nail on the head “it’s about balance and healthy choices”. Beer is fattening – fact. Do I allow myself one if I’m out for a BBQ with the guys – hell yeah!

      This is why I stopped buying these health magazines where their headline articles are like “Be Summer Ready in 6 Weeks!” or “6 Pack Abs in 4 Easy Moves”. It creates a short-term attitude to fitness, only thinking about the next time you need to take off your shirt. Sadly no one buys “Why Exercise Will Improve Your Mood” or anything like that. People are much more interested in “How Mike Got This V-Shape Back in 3 Weeks”

      • Ice_Badger says:

        you are completely right! the “quick fix” idea definitely sells magazines!
        I was looking for something good to read about health and fitness when I started this project and every magazine out there (especially for women) was “bikini body in 3 minutes” or “how to lose 9 stone in a week” or some such thing…this was across the board…health mags and fitness mags and weight loss mags…all the same…as a result I bought none of it!

      • That’s why ultimately I ended up purchasing the NASM Personal Trainer textbook! Much more informative than these magazine and around the same as a one year subscription for half of them from what I can tell!

      • Ice_Badger says:

        that is actually a pretty good idea…I might look into it! πŸ™‚

        at the moment I am relying on many many blogs from which I weed out the crap and apply common sense…
        that and asking my personal trainer a lot!

      • My personal trainer was actually one of my best resources for filtering the bullshit haha.

        All the best and hope my blog is entertaining for you at least haha.

      • Ice_Badger says:

        πŸ™‚ well it hasn’t been thrown out with the crap…I am still reading it so that is a good sign πŸ˜€

      • I’ll take it! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

