Day 3 – 26th June – Secret Office Workouts

Posted: June 26, 2013 in Fitness, Fitness Diary
Tags: , , ,

Today Pete (my name for my inner pessimist) is really putting me to the test. Today I woke up and my girlfriend was doing insanity (at 6am before work!!) as I lay in bed begging my body to care and wake up.

This evening I am at risk of falling into Pete‘s trap as I will not get home until 6pm, I have to get my dinner in as well as my Cardio Power & Resistance before leaving the house for a second time to come into the office at 9pm for an evening sales presentation to the US. Pete is trying to convince me that my presentation will be sub-par if I burn all my energy doing CPR this evening. He’s also trying to convince me I don’t have enough time.

Pete couldn’t be more wrong.

I have scheduled myself perfectly so there are no excuses for not doing the workout tonight. Also my right ankle is really hurting but this is where I can hear Pete saying “take it easy tonight man” but I’m telling him – no. I’m going to stay safe, land softly and keep focused on my foot positioning during the exercises but I’m not going to delay this exercise.

The only risk now is that I’m not in the zone when I get home so I’ve decided to do something a little drastic – Secret Office Workouts.

Is That A Euphemism For Something…Absolutely not! I, like most of us here I imagine, work in an office. So that means that aside from my evening workouts and my 25minute walk to and from work each day, I am totally stagnant.

I read about these 15 minute workouts or tips for going to the gym at lunch but (and this isn’t Pete speaking) but here are the facts:
– It’s an average of 30C every day here with 75-85% humidity on average
– I’m going to sweat if I do 15 minute workouts
– My team will notice if I disappear for 15 minutes and I don’t want this to be public office discussion.
– There are no showers in my office so I can’t do a run during my 1 hour lunch.

Now why do I say this isn’t Pete speaking? Because that won’t stop me keeping active – I don’t want to stay stagnant all day and that’s my objective. I don’t want to work out enough to sweat through my shirt and trousers but enough to occasionally get my heart rate up and remind myself of my lifestyle choice.

At 9am – 5pm today (with the exception of 12 and 1 due to lunch meetings) I will, every hour on the hour, do 20 squats and 20 push ups (that’s 140 Pushups and 140 squats over the course of the day). I will be doing these in one of our private meeting rooms but the stairwell will serve just fine if it’s in use.

Will this result in muscle growth, weight loss or provide any major contribution to my physical goal? 10/10 experts say not a chance! So why do it at all? Well, sitting still in the office saps my energy and my focus. I’ve tried going for a quick wander around our floor but I just slump back into my chair. Doing my SecretOfficeWorkout will allow me to have a quick change in my heart rate and engage my muscles 7 times a day during office hours. This will keep me mentally sharp as I get blood and oxygen pumping and also keep my mind sharp on my goal: a fitter lifestyle.

The truth is that my ultimate goal is to go from Office Body to Beach Body and that takes more than Insanity and weights – to succeed I will need drive, ambition, bucket-loads of motivation and passion. As you can tell, each of those items is a mental thing and so I know this – Train the mind and the body will take care of itself.

Comments
  1. jemicdre says:

    I work from home, but when I was in the office, we had a gym in our basement. I’d change into my workout clothes during my first break, then workout and change back on lunch.
    Now I’m at home and because I’m not near the gym, or in a big building, I’ve become more sedentary than before!
    My inner bitch is named Jessica…and I can’t tell you how many times she’s made me cry…tell me I can’t do it, I’m not good enough, etc. I pushed her so far away, I think she’s gone, and that’s why I’ve allowed myself to gain this much weight!

    • Thanks for sharing! I would love to have a gym in the basement or even just somewhere to shower so I could do some hard-core mat work.

      Just remember – Jessica is NOT you! That voice saying you can’t is just left over negative energy from everyone who told you that you can’t do it. But you can and you KNOW you can – you just get in there and get it done :)!

    • caralamah says:

      A good way to look at it is, that inner negativity that we all have, use it as a motivator. Any one who says you can’t do something, use that as motivation to prove them wrong. The satisfaction o not only achieving your goal but also not allowing negative thoughts and comments get you is an even greater achievement! Good stuff!!

  2. caralamah says:

    Jemicdre, a good way to look at it is, that inner negativity that we all have, use it as a motivator. Any one who says you can’t do something, use that as motivation to prove them wrong. The satisfaction o not only achieving your goal but also not allowing negative thoughts and comments get you is an even greater achievement! Good stuff!!

  3. […] (For the benefit of those new to the blog, my SecretOfficeWorkout is something I do every hour on the hour : https://gottagetfitter.wordpress.com/2013/06/26/day-3-26th-june-secret-office-workouts/) […]

Leave a Reply

